top of page

Upcoming Sask Music Awards and Very Prairie

SaskMusic presents the Saskatchewan Music Awards and Very Prairie Music Summit

(REGINA) January 13, 2022 - SaskMusic is preparing to announce the winners of the 2021 Saskatchewan Music Awards via a streamed event on Thursday, January 20, 2022 at 8pm CST, on YouTube ( and Facebook. The awards are meant to honour excellence and celebrate the achievements of our Saskatchewan music industry members over the past year. Performers for the virtual event will include Saskatoon’s The Garrys, vbnd and Katie Tupper; Regina’s Flash Back, and Cut Knife’s Jake Vaadeland.

With the exception of Album of the Year, all the SMAs will be announced on Thursday. (The award for Album of the Year was announced in mid-December after Hunter Brothers’ “Been a Minute” reached the top of The Best Saskatchewan Albums of 2021 public poll.)

Following the SMAs, the fourth annual Very Prairie Music Summit kicks off, running online January 21-23. An educational event for the Saskatchewan music industry, Very Prairie is focused on career growth, business development and music industry best practices. National and international presenters will dive into an array of topics that we hope will provide practical and straightforward information. We encourage musicians and industry at any stage of their career to attend, learn and share. Registration for the event is free.

Follow this website and SaskMusic’s social media accounts for updates.

The Best Saskatchewan Albums of 2021 Long List There were multiple ties in this year’s public poll.

#1 Hunter Brothers - Been a Minute (Album of the Year, Saskatchewan Music Awards)

#2 (TIE) Jake Vaadeland - Retro Man; Jeffery Straker - Just Before Sunrise

#3 (TIE) Jess Moskaluke- The Demos; vbnd - Scum Funk

#4 (TIE) The Garrys - Get Thee to a Nunnery; Seven Mile Sun - Light In The Dark; Flash Back - Wide Awake

#5 (TIE) Amanda Hagel - Be the Light; Marie-Véronique Bourque - Entre Québec & Saskatchewan; Wolf Willow- Old Guitars & Shooting Stars

#6 Munro & Patrick - Give Me Your Rain

#7 The Saskatchewan All Stars Big Band - The Saskatchewan Suite

#8 Ava Wild and Merky Waters – Existing

#10 (TIE) Jeff D Michel – Back to the Moon; Tucker Lane– Random Fireworks on a Beach Obscured by Trees; Karissa Hoffart - Life of Mine

Recent Posts

See All

The 2021 Saskatchewan Music Award Winners

SaskMusic announced the winners of the 2021 Saskatchewan Music Awards through a streamed event Thursday, January 20 on their Facebook and YouTube channels (video: The aw


bottom of page