top of page

The Nominees!

The 2019 Saskatchewan Music Awards: Nominee Announcement

(REGINA) November 13, 2019

SaskMusic today announced the nominees of the 2019 Saskatchewan Music Awards with an event held at The Artesian in Regina. The awards are intended to honour excellence, and celebrate the achievements of our Saskatchewan music industry members over the past year. The awards event will take place on Thursday, November 28/2019 at The Broadway Theatre, Saskatoon, in conjunction with the Very Prairie Music Summit (November 29-December 1/2019) in Saskatoon.


Tickets for the Awards are on sale now, for an advance price of $20 plus service fees. Performers for the evening include respectfulchild, Yellowsky, 3 Moonjask, and Jay & Jo, with more to be announced. (Ticket link: An official after party will follow at Amigos Cantina. Registration for Very Prairie is also open now, with discounts for youth, student, and bands.


SaskMusic would like to thank our major sponsors: Creative Saskatchewan, FACTOR (The Foundation Assisting Canadian Talent on Recordings), and the Government of Saskatchewan for their support.

2019 Saskatchewan Music Award Nominees


Alternative Artist of the Year

sponsored by CFCR and CJTR

Bears in Hazenmore

Close Talker





Country Artist of the Year

Amy Nelson

Chris Henderson

Hunter Brothers 

Justin LaBrash

Tenille Arts 


Electronic Artist of the Year

Carson Shmyr

Duchess of Dub

Patrick Moon Bird




Experimental or Contemporary Artist of the Year

Del Suelo

Jesse Brown

Patient Hands 

Singing With Sylvia (Sylvia Chave)

Wolf Willow


Hip Hop Artist of the Year

Alex Bent + the Emptiness

Eekwol and T-Rhyme


Samurai Champs 



Metal/Loud Artist of the Year

Arcana Kings

Blue Youth

Man Meat

Shooting Guns

The Jump Off

Untimely Demise 

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year

sponsored by Nimbus School of Recording & Media



Close Talker




Roots/Folk Artist of the Year

Belle Plaine

Gunner & Smith 

Kacy and Clayton

Poor Nameless Boy

The Dead South

Twin Fiddles


Indigenous Artist of the Year

sponsored by Shift Development

Conrad Bigknife

Donny Parenteau

Duchess of Dub

Eekwol and T-Rhyme 

Patrick Moon Bird

Single of the Year

Bombargo, “Oxygen”

Foxwarren, “Sunset Canyon”

Foxwarren, ”Everything Apart”

Hunter Brothers, “Lost”

Hunter Brothers, “Northern Lights”

Reignwolf, “Black and Red”

Reignwolf, “Over & Over”

Samara Yung, “Swerve”

Tenille Arts, “Call You Names”

Tenille Arts, “I Hate This”

The Dead South, “Diamond Ring”

W3apons, ”Off the Top of My Heart”

Music Video of the Year

Amy Mantyka, Play Creative Media for "El Fin Del Mundo ft. Ramon Fernandez," Def3 & Late Night Radio

Crushed Rockets (Sherona Sinclair, Director/Editor; Aaron Sinclair, Producer) for "Seeker," Megan Nash

Dustin Wilson and Zach Wilson, Two Brothers Films for "Diamond Ring," The Dead South

Dylan Hryciuk, Versa Films for "Petite Fleur,” Ponteix

Dylan Hryciuk, Versa Films for "Faux Pas,” Ponteix


Industry Achievement Award

sponsored by the Organization Of Saskatchewan Arts Councils (OSAC)

Eliza Doyle

Grind Central Records

Jay Semko

Susan Busse

The Broadway Theatre 

Trifecta Sound Co


Producer of the Year

sponsored by SOCAN

Bart McKay

Brad Prosko

Close Talker

Mario Lepage

SJ Kardash

​​Venue of the Year

sponsored by Entandem

Blenders Events

Happy Nun

TD Mainstage – Saskatchewan Jazz Festival

The Broadway Theatre 

The Exchange



  • Single of the Year is a data-driven category which is not genre-specific.All other categories above were determined by an industry jury.

  • The Breaking Borders Award, presented by the Derek Bachman Foundation, will be announced at the awards show. There are no nominees presented in advance for this category.

  • The longlist for Best Saskatchewan Albums of the Year will be announced at the awards show, with public voting for the Top Ten to commence the following day.

For more information please contact Michael Dawson, Executive Director, SaskMusic; or 1-800-347-0676.

SaskMusic is a non-profit association that stimulates growth and development in the commercial music industry of Saskatchewan through leadership, promotion, training, advocacy and partnership. We offer programming including artist consultations, workshops, marketing, artist listings, export assistance, networking opportunities and much more. We represent the four components of our industry: creative, interpretive, technical and administrative. Our artists and music professionals hail from across our province, and work in pretty much every genre you can imagine. We are a source of information and resources for both the public, and the music industry. Please visit for more information.

Entandem tagline logo colour_edited.jpg

Entandem is a joint venture between RE:SOUND and SOCAN, created to simplify the licensing process so you can play all the music you want in your business legally and ethically, ensuring that those who made the music are compensated.


Nimbus School of Recording & Media: Located in beautiful Vancouver BC, Nimbus School of Recording & Media is the elite music and media career training school offering courses taught by current industry professionals, award nominees, and award winners in the music industry. Nimbus offers a unique hands-on educational experience, with small class sizes and mentorship-based programs to get you working on real projects. Nimbus alumni work in all facets of the audio industry, including engineering and producing at recording studios such as The Armoury, Hipposonic and Monarch Studios, and doing sound design and editing at post-production and game development studios such as Electronic Arts.  

OSAC is an umbrella organization that enables community arts councils and schools to tour and hold live musical and theatre performances, visual art exhibitions, workshops and special events across Saskatchewan, and are proud to live and work on the lands of Treaty Four and Treaty Six and the traditional home of the Metis. OSAC is committed to continuing to build their relationship with Indigenous peoples as well as those from around the world who make Saskatchewan the diverse place it is.


CJTR is Regina's only community radio station. They are Regina's voice. They provide diverse and unique programming created and delivered by citizens for this great city. People-powered radio!

CFCR 90.5 FM Community Radio is a non-profit corporation owned by the Community Radio Society of Saskatoon. They are a volunteer powered, listener supported organization serving the alternative radio needs of Saskatoon and surrounding areas. As CFCR is a non-profit organization, they are primarily volunteer-powered but have a small, hardworking staff. They work with the kind guidance of their Board of Directors.


Shift Development builds unique urban spaces that become the launching pad for great lifestyles, communities, and businesses—such as Saskatoon’s first coworking space The Two Twenty. Community-building is at the heart of every residential and commercial project we design. With two musicians as its founders, Shift Development knows that behind every great family dance party, romance, and roadtrip, there is a great song. So hats off to those of you who put your hearts and souls into making the soundtracks of our lives.

bottom of page